Any tips for changing lye concentration

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CreativeWeirdo

Assume humorous intentions.
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello friends!

So, I've been using the same CP soap recipe (attached) for almost two years now. I'm very happy with it! I'm planning to experiment with it because... SCIENCE!!!

I've noticed some people on here talk about them changing/lowering their lye concentration to limit soda ash? Is this a thing? How much can I play with these variables? Is there much of a difference between using lye concentration, water as percentage of oil weight, and water : lye ratio?

Thanks in advance,
CW

Attachments

• CWSoap_1kg_Unscented.pdf
    125.4 KB · Views: 0
Actually you would want to RAISE your lye concentration (aka, lower your water) to combat soda ash. :)

I regularly soap at 40% lye concentration unless it is a super complicated design, or an accelerating fragrance. It definitely reduces ash for me, but it is not the complete solution for some of my naughtier, ashier soaps (lookin' at you, goat milk soap and charcoal soap 🧐). No doubt it's my own fault for soaping pretty cool. But I digress...

Lye concentration and water:lye ratio are two ways of saying the exact same thing. Water as percent of oils, however, is a completely different setting that was originally developed for hot process soap. Some who have used it forever are quite happy with it, but you won't get consistent fluidity of your batter if you scale your recipe up or down.

My recommendation is to work with lye concentration or water:lye ratio. Pick the one that makes the most sense to your brain. For most people, that's going to be lye concentration because it is one number instead of two, and no pesky colon to trip you up. Also, it's easy to remember that as the lye concentration number goes up, the amount of water goes down.

HTH!