Wool Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Raevyn

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I am new to soap making - not really looking to get too into making soap, I am just mainly interested in making my own wool wash. Its not really available in any store in my area, and there is only one knitting shop in the entire city and they dont stock stuff like that. The stuff I get off amazon is ok but I have to wait for it to ship, its kind of expensive and doesn't actually contain any lanolin in it. It's a wool and cashmere shampoo.

So I have been researching about soap making for a while now and I am waiting for the KOH to arrive since you guessed it, those product are not readily available in stores either except industrial warehouses that I have no way of getting to in the first (and even then they tend to be very expensive). I would like to make a liquid soap with lanolin in it. Right now I add some lanolin to hot water and melt it together then add a squirt of the wool shampoo and mix it until it looks like milk and then add that to a basin of luke warm water. I would ideally like to make a liquid soap that will just emulsify like that into the white liquid when added right to the basin of water...might need to try liquid lanolin for that....

any one have any starting points for me? I have looked up many recipes for soap but since this is going to be used for washing knitted items should I add something like borax to the mix to help clean them? or will the soap by itself do that?

thank you in advance

I don’t have a recipe for suggestion for you. I’d just like to ask that if you do figure out a recipe please share it. I’d be very interested in making my own wool wash

Sure I won't mind sharing. Now the hard part is waiting for my supplies to arrive