What oils make whitest soap? And peppermint EO ?s

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lin

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new. I've been reading quite a few threads though that I've found with google search. I'm very new to soap making! I've been making my own body products for a while now though due to skin issues and purchasing homemade CP soap. Now I'm venturing into making my own, plus hoping to give some to a few people for christmas.

I hope what I'm planning isn't too hard for such a newbie. I'm mostly planning on formulating my own recipes, but based on recommended percentages of oils and looking at known recipes. I'll be making the size of the recipe to fit the molds.

The one I'm hoping to do as gifts is make a peppermint soap that looks like a starlight mint. I'm going to just be using a pringles can as my mold, and make a star shaped piece to stick inside it for pouring my soap and then just slide that out. Watching youtube videos with that sort of thing, they've just poured the soap at a light trace and slid the divider out. Is this what I should do? Or should I go for a more medium trace? Wait a bit before sliding the divider out? I want as clean of lines as possible. I'm planning on soaping at room temperature, and thought with the pringles can I can just leave it out at room temperature without any insulation, I don't want to gel. Or should I stick it in the fridge for any extra precaution? And if I do this, when should I unmold?