Water is better than vinegar for caustic lye exposures

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ycartf

Reaction score
Hey everyone. I have been reading on here for a while and I notice that a lot of people advise the use of vinegar (acidic ... ph of around 2.5) for when lye accidentally comes into contact with skin. While this does work, as far as neutralizing the alkali/caustic/lye, it is also more traumatic to tissue when compared to copious amounts of water. I am a fireman/paramedic/hazmat technician for the last 16 years and we use baking soda (alkali) to neutralize say - a battery someone dropped off their truck so that the acid from it does not affect the water when it is washed down the storm drain. But you see a pronounced reaction when the alkali and acid meet (remember the foaming volcano science experiment from school). This reaction can be as damaging as - or even more damaging than - the alkali exposure on your skin. Brushing away any particles of lye possible while still dry, and then copious amounts of water and gentle brushing is the least traumatic way to handle a spill/exposure. Always remove all you can of ANY dry chemical exposure while it is dry first (less to become a solution on your skin). Remember, any lye remaining on your skin is going to become more damaging once it is wet ... like becoming "activated" ... so have plenty of cool water available. An acid like vinegar WILL neutralize the alkali back down, but it is a reaction you would be best served to not have occurring on your skin. I know most of my exposures have been only a couple grains/beads of lye, so if you are talking about that small of an amount there is not much reaction either way. Just a little FWIW and have a great day.