Superfatting

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

My Mountain Soaps

Reaction score
Ok all you wonderful teachers, I am still learning. I want to know about superfatting.
1. What exactly is it?
2. How do i determine what percent superfatting to use? for example if you follow my thread http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=39423 "I now have deer and elk tallow" you will see that i am about to venture into making my first batch. Just for learning experience, i took the recipes that Obsidian and others were so kind to give me, and ran them through soap calc. But when it asked for superfatting percentage, i wasnt sure.
So i would appreciate any instruction/insight you may have on this topic. A friend told me that she used 8% on her soaps, but i never got around to asking why she chose 8%. so if you will please answer my two questions, i would greatly appreciate it!

I don't know if I'm 'qualified' with enough experience to answer this properly for you but here's my understanding of it:

Superfatting is essentially adding more oils to your batch than your lye will be able to saponify. So the goodness in those oils will be in your soap when it's finished curing.

Bad point of superfatting seems to be that because the oils haven't turned into soap there is a chance of them going off quicker.

I'm sure you'll get much more edu-ma-cated advice than this but I thought I'd give you my two cents, everyone has been so helpful to me and I'm trying to help when I can! :)

Superfatting is having extra oils that are not saponified by the lye. I generally superfat 8-10 percent and on my mostly coconut oil soaps I superfat at 20%. I have never had a batch get DOS or go bad on me in three years. Older more mature skin is an example of skin that may need a higher superfat (Me) or those with more sensitive skin may prefer a higher superfat as well.