Solid lotion bar ratio

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JewelsSuds

Reaction score
Good morning from FL. This is my first post, be gentle lol I do have a question regarding the 1/3 ratio. Is that 1/3 percent of each? So 1/3 oil, 1/3 butter and 1/3 percent wax? Or is this 1/3 cup? I've been making lotion bars for a few months, but I'd like to try this ratio. I apologize for the ignorance. I use the percentage calculator at WSP. So if its indeed 1/3 percent, that will be easy peasy! I just didn't understand when I seen Zing post 1/3 of each. Didnt know if it was cup or percent. Thankyou so much! And I look forward to being an active member🥰

Hi and welcome @JewelsSuds. 🌸
Percent, so you can easily size your batch up or down. Let us know what you use and post pics!
I follow @Zing’s recipe, too. I use 1/3 of Meadowfoam oil, mango butter and beeswax. 😊
Thankyou so much! I will definitely post! Here's some coffee bars I made, but it wasn't that ratio. I did however use Mango butter which is probably my all time favorite butter to use! I will use the WSP calc and do a 2 oz batch to fill a mold. I'll report back! It may be later today, as we're heading out in a few. But thankyou for the reply!

Attachments

• 20231002_205213.jpg
    20231002_205213.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 0
No need to apologize, we all start at the beginning.

All 'bath & body' recipes should be given in percentages so that it will always be the same whether you are making a one pound batch or a five pound batch. And all measurements should be by weight as opposed to volume as it is more accurate***. Now there are some exceptions to the latter. Oftentimes it is easier to measure by volume than ounce or gram...like colorants (mica, pigments, oxides, etc) or other additives like Sodium Lactate, Sugar, Salt, etc so you might see "1 tea PPO" in a recipe which means 1 teaspoon per pound of oils.