Sea Salt in Bars

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dippy

Reaction score
Hi All

I am a newbie here and I am in the process of formulating my first 2 recipes with the help of a lye calc. I want all natural products as that is what brought me to soap making and I am looking to make a gentle all round bar (possibly with goats milk) and a body scrub bar.

For the body scrub bar I like the sound of sea salt for the exfoliation. My question is how do you put this in the bar? As it comes from the shops or do you have to grind it down smaller? The sea salt you buy from supermarkets to put in salt grinders are fairly large lumps and I am wondering if that is too harsh on skin as it comes. Also do you put it in at the end once you have a light trace or before then?

Thanks so much for reading! I am at the very start of the learning curve but I am learning lots reading threads on here.

Dippy

First off, salt isn't a exfoliant. The salt dissolves away quickly and you'll have a nice smooth bar.

You want to use fine ground sea salt, never grind it yourself. That creates very sharp edges that will slice your skin.

Salt reduces lather so a salt bar has to be formulated with that in mind. Most people use around 80% coconut with the rest made up of a HO oil of choice, I use olive. Make sure to use SF of 20% to counter the high cleansing of the coconut.

Add the salt at med trace so it doesn't sink. It will generally set up really quickly so you need to add any color/scent before the salt.

Salt bars also get incredibly hard quickly and can be difficult to cut. I suggest using cavity molds instead, much easier.

If you don't want to deal with a salt bar, finely ground oatmeal makes a pretty nice scrubby bar. A cheap coffee grinder works good for grinding the oatmeal.