palm oil substitute?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lottee

Reaction score
Hello all, i'm new to soap making and looking around for recipes that interest me. An awful lot of them have palm oil in which regardless of the sustainability issue, i just don't have easy access to. Is there something i can swap it for? Or does the whole recipe need to be revamped? Thanks.

You can use lard or beef tallow instead of palm oil, but you have to run the revised recipe through a lye calculator. If you want a vegan soap try babassu Oil, but use much less babassu oil than you would palm. As stated before, run the recipe through a lye calculator such as SoapCalc.

If you don't want to use lard or tallow you can up your butters like Shea, mango or cocoa and do what lsg said about running it through a lye calc.

Coconut oil will give you the bubbles and cleansing, but not the creaminess. I use cocoa butter at a low percentage when I am trying for a 'perfect' soap (mid range in all qualities in soapcalc). Cocoa butter is spendy, I use organic, but you can get away with a small % and still get the creaminess.

Thanks everyone for your responses. I should have said - i just don't fancy lard or tallow, makes me feel a bit odd! I have been using coconut oil so will carry on with that plus a butter of some sort. Thanks again!

Not sure if you have it in the UK, but palm oil here is Frymaster in the supermarket with the solid cooking oils in the dairy section.

Spectrum makes a 100% palm oil shortening that is organic and sourced from sustainable farmers that do not have any impact on deforestation. It's in most hippy stores and food sections. Cost is $8 for 1 lb

Almost anything labelled in your supermarket as vegetable shortening will contain palm oil. Check the section with butters it's often there.

ClaraSuds said: