Master's Brush Soap & Preservative ... looking for copycat recipe??

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PaintyLiz

Reaction score
I have a container of Master's Brush Soap & Preservative that does a great job on all brushes, oil, acrylic, etc. I'm wondering if anyone has any idea of a recipe to create my own copycat version? I'm very new to soaping so don't have a lot of knowledge of ingredients.

I would prefer if it had only coconut oil, shea butter, castor oil and/or olive oil as these are what I have on hand. I would think a good coconut oil with maybe a little shea butter would be good.

I have no idea what the ingredients in Masters Soap are, and they are not listed on the container or their website.

I have also cleaned oil brushes with Murphy's oil soap which works well.

Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Liz

Last edited:
Try a coconut only dual lye hot process soap then sub in etehelene glycol for 25% of the water amount after cook - keep super fat at 0 - it will be a cleansing bar which should remove acrylic residue - synthetic brushes will be fine, but you would need to wash natural brushes after they are clean with a superfatted body soap to replace some of the oils stripped from the bristles.

Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appreciated!
For a copycat recipe, we would need to see the list of ingredients. We can't really help much without that.
I have also cleaned oil brushes with Murphy's oil soap which works well.
I just posted my copycat recipe for Murphy's Oil Soap so you can have a look.

ETA: Back in the day when I did such things as painting with oils and acrylics, I always cleaned my brushes by holding a bar of soap in one hand and rubbing the brush on the soap with the other hand. Then rinse, rinse, rinse until the water runs clear. Works for house painting brushes too. 😉

Last edited: