Best type of soap for paintbrushes?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LizzardBlizzard

Reaction score
I'm just getting into soap making (hello world!) And I wanted to ask opinions on the best kind of cp soap to make to wash paintbrushes used for watercolor or acrylic painting. Most resources I've found have recommended a mild unscented soap, so I was thinking of making castile soap maybe? Ideally whatever soap I make wouldn't strip a natural haired brush of its oils, and wouldn't corrode metal or eat away at the glue holding the bristles in the brush.

I think it's better to ask another informed artist. There are natural and synthetic brushes and lye soap (liquid or bar) has a high pH which might cause problems (like it does to human and dog hair). It may be better to use a detergent type of soap, with a neutral pH.

I think it's better to ask another informed artist. There are natural and synthetic brushes and lye soap (liquid or bar) has a high pH which might cause problems (like it does to human and dog hair). It may be better to use a detergent type of soap, with a neutral pH.
I've had a couple of art teachers recommend simple white unscented bar soap, and I've also seen castile soap on the market on artist websites for sure, but you're definitely onto something of it harms the natural fibers over time. I'm in information gathering mode so if I was looking for more info on making a neutral detergent soap, would I be looking more into like shampoo bars? Or would it likely need to be a liquid soap?

If you want to make a pH neutral soap, then it won't be a lye (sodium or potassium hydroxide) based soap. You will need to use surfactants only. There are suppliers you can purchase from, plus free and professionally designed recipes for detergent bars.