How to deal with "omg you made this! You should totally sell this" a nube experience

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kryse13

Reaction score
This is my spin off from the Thread "To reply or not to reply? That is the question".

I am a newbie. I have been interested and casually researching soap making for over a year before I decided to join this forum and actually make my first batch of CP soap. Have now been a member for a few months.

My first batch of soap making ever was a m&p kit from Micheals, I probably made this about 2-3 years ago. I hated it. I wanted to do the whole lye process! So I eventually researched and got over the fear of lye and how it can burn the crap out of you. I wanted to make a laundry bar of soap because I got all swept up in the hype of making your own cheapskate products off of pinterest (which was a detour from my extreme couponing phase). So I researched for a while before I figured out CO was the way to go with a super fat of 1% or 0%. and I did it. Was easy enough.

Then started the addiction...

I wanted to make M O R E!!!

I was too scared to jump in a create my own recipe so I researched and found recipies that were tried and true, also because I had no money to mess up this recipe and no experience to correct it if I did mess it up. Took me a long time to figure out soap calc, it was way too complicated at the begining, now I look at it and think "How did I even think it was complicated?". I asked people on this forum for help (soo thankful I joined this one because of the kind and patient people here. Even when I figured (what I thought) was enough to get more into soaping I had to ask and check if the recipe I formulated was good from the experienced soapers view before I would make it.

Then when I shared with my family and friends "hey look i made soap". The first reaction I get is "you should sell that".