Hot Process-Experienced input needed.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

welder

Reaction score
Hello Everyone.

I am new to soapmaking and although I've got my basic supplies together, I haven't actually tried making any soap yet.

This is because I'm trying to choose between using the cold process or the hot process.

I posted about this issue once already, but for some reason, the post dissapeared and I can't find it on any of this sites' forum menus.

Anyway, I want input from anyone here who has experience with the hot process.

I have read that the hot process is faster than the cold process, but a local soaper supply store employee told me that the hot process often produces bars that are bubbly and twisted from random pockets of shrinkage.

Has anyone here with hot process experience ever noticed oddly misshapen bars, or bars with bubbles in them?

The other thing I was told was that hot process bars are dry and crubly (as in brittle). Anyone know if this is true?

Thanks for your input.

HP soap will not be as smooth as CP becasue it is much thicker when you put it in the mold. The process of HP does not cause soap to become brittle, the soaper who told you this needs to check his/her recipe and/or technique.
Welcome to the forum.

After you pour (glop) your HP in the mold, if you then scrape the sides of the pot and try to add that to the mold those bits probably won't stick and instead will flake off, or even fall off in chunks.

HP soap can be dry and brittle if you over cook it or don't use enough water when you make it. Over use of sodium lactate can also do that though it'll pour more easily.

Misshapen? Air pockets? Because it doesn't "pour" like CP so you tend to get a rougher finish - if you have to cram it in the mold it's not going to be pretty. Some can make beautifully smooth bars though.