HI, New to soap making (CP)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alsoCass

Reaction score
HI,

I am new to soap making. I just made my second batch of soap yesterday. It has turned out strange and I don't know if that is good or bad. I have a lot of questions.... Is there a newbies section?

I made my first soap batch a few months ago and it turned out great.

my first recipe:
450ml water
172g caustic soda (Sodium Hydroxide)
1000g olive oil
250g copha (which I am told is a coconut oil substitute).

This came to trace in 10-15minutes. I remember having to switch hands a few times with the stick blender.

For the second batch we wanted to try adding scent, and I had rice bran oil to use.
495ml water
215g caustic soda (Sodium Hydroxide)
400g Olive Oil
600g Rice Bran Oil
500g Copha
40ml Lavendar (Huggies) oil

I made a mistake with this one, I had heated the oil and was waiting for the caustic soda to cool when I realised that I had forgotten to add the rice bran oil. So I quickly added it in and put the pot back on the heat. The oil got to the right temperature with a few minutes to spare.
I also may have had the caustic soda a few degrees too hot (55-60Celsius).

This mix came to trace in about 10seconds. I stopped mixing and went to get the fragrance and when I came back the soap mixture looked like a solid custard that had been stirred around. I pushed on and added the fragrance and then scooped the mixture into the molds.

Within 5minutes the soap appeared to seperate with lots of oil rising to the top, even bulging at the top. It had a yellow oily colour from the oil, with a lighter outside where the soap was happening
Within an hour or two the soap had begun to harden and was a white colour, the oil had disappeared.