Do you always use coconut oil in your soaps??

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TuxedoKat

Reaction score
I have some more affordable coconut oil on order, but have been using the health food store variety up until this point (I've only made 3 lbs. of soap so far - so it's not too bad). But! Because my order didn't arrive before the long weekend (sniff), and I hate to use anymore of the expensive coconut oil, I started playing around in soap calc to see what I could come up with. And now here's my question ... are you all always using coconut oil in your soaps? I see that coconut oil is really the only oil listed with "cleansing" properties. Well, except for the animal based oils, but I'm a veggie so I wouldn't be using them.

I know there are castille soaps out there and I thought of making a batch tonight, but if it doesn't have cleansing properties ... do you all just use it when you're clean already? lol

yes I do use coconut in every batch.

castille soap still cleans... any soap will usually clean. Low cleansing numbers mean the soap is less stripping.

I use coconut for up to 1/3 of my recipe for bubbles and hardness. I don't worry about those silly cleansing properties in some soap calcs - soap is soap. :D

tasha said:
yes I do use coconut in every batch.

castille soap still cleans... any soap will usually clean. Low cleansing numbers mean the soap is less stripping.

Ah! Less stripping sounds like it would be especially nice in the winter. I always get super dry skin in the fall/winter. Maybe I will make more soap this weekend after all. Thanks!

Soaplady22 said:
I use coconut for up to 1/3 of my recipe for bubbles and hardness. I don't worry about those silly cleansing properties in some soap calcs - soap is soap. :D

Soap is soap. I like it! I'm off to play in soap calc again.... :wink: