Do customers really like stuff in their soap?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gramma Judy

Reaction score
I am new to this and looking at the practical side. We are in the sewer & septic business. We clean lots of drain lines. So I look at when we add leaves and buds and 'stuff' to soap, it is all going down the drain. Small seeds, pumice, baby oatmeal, okay. But what about petals and such? I personally don't even like cleaning Aveeno's colodial (sp) oatmeal bath out of my tub. Do your customer's really like this 'stuff' in their soap.

we had a previous post about this, you may want to read, i had the same question.
I do NOT like the look of stuff on the top of my soap, i think lavender looks like worms. I think its a waste on money , then the cust. just has to scrape it off and put in garbage. Just my opinion 8)
I do put oats or strawberry seeds IN my soap for exfoliating.

It's all a matter of personal preference. I personally don't care one way or the other, and rare put a lot of extras in my soap. However, some people like the added decorations, extra bling stuff and all that fun. I soap the way I like to soap. :)

They are very pretty to look at, no doubt about it, but I personally hate using soaps with flower petals in them or leaves and buds. They drive me bonkers by getting in the way of a smooth lathering experience. I do, however, like certain soaps with baby oatmeal in them, and also pumice and/or tiny seeds because they serve a practical purpose- namely gentle exfoliation, but if they don't have a practical reason for being in my soap besides the pretty factor, they get nixed.

IrishLass :)