Body Butter changed texture overnight! Is this normal?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I recently made a thick emulsified body butter following a recipe from YouTube. The set up texture and consistency was quite oily and spongy to begin with, but a satisfyingly thick butter as I wanted.

I followed the recipe apart from using Grapeseed oil instead of Safflower oil, and used Geraniol for fragrance instead of E.O or F.O.

I have copied the recipe below.

The cream turned firmer but also very matt and chalky looking overnight, which made it a bit harder to spread.

This texture change has not happened with the few other emulsified body butters I've made (relative beginner here). So my question, is there anything could have caused such a dramatic texture change? The Geraniol perhaps? Or how is the e - wax /cetyl quantity here? Any insights welcome😀

(I used Cetearyl Alcohol / Ceteareth 20 as my e - wax).

Here's the full original recipe:

Water Phase Ingredients
43.5% Distilled Water
4% Vegetable Glycerin
Oil Phase Ingredients
25% Kokum Butter
10% Cocoa Butter
5% Safflower Oil (I used grapeseed oil)
6% Emulsifying Wax (I used Cetearyl Alcohol / Ceteareth 20)
4% Cetyl Alcohol
Cool Down
2% Fragrance Oil (I used geraniol)
0.5% Germall Plus

Last edited:
I recently made a thick emulsified body butter following a recipe from YouTube. The set up texture and consistency was quite oily and spongy to begin with, but a satisfyingly thick butter as I wanted.

I followed the recipe apart from using Grapeseed oil instead of Safflower oil, and used Geraniol for fragrance instead of E.O or F.O.

The recipe contained 6% emulsifying wax and 4% acetyl alcohol. (I can give full recipe if necessary)

The cream turned firmer but also very matt and chalky looking overnight, which made it a bit harder to spread.