water in recipe

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ΦΥΛΙΩ ΣΥΚΑ

Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to liquid soap making and have a few questions. What if I add more water in the recipe before trace or immediately after, but before cooking? Wouldn't this give a softer paste that can be dilluted more easily? What will happen if I don't cook the paste but leave it for a month or so for the alkali to completely nutralize-just like in CP soapmaking? Has anybody tried?

Some people don't cook their liquid soap, but let it set until it tests OK. I would not add more water than the recipe calls for, but I am not an expert in liquid soap making. Using hot water to dissolve soap paste works for me.

Last edited:
Yes, many of us use a cold process method to make liquid soap. It doesn't take a month to saponify -- or even one day. Here are some tutorials for more information:

Irish Lass: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?p=428988 see posts 8 and 9
and: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=57974

Susie: http://www.soapmakingforum.com/showthread.php?t=49852

I would be careful adding a lot of liquid at trace. It might work, but it might not.

Trace is an indication that the soap batter has reached a stable chemical emulsion. An emulsion can fail if conditions change too much -- adding a lot of liquid or rapidly changing the temperature are two things that could cause emulsion failure.

Thank you both Isg and DeeAnna. Still, I feel tempted to give it a try and see how it works. Not sure yet, but all that time of stirring over and over in order to dilute the soap paste is a bit intimidating. Well, I'll let you know about the results if I do try