Trace & Temperatures

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to CP soap making. I made my 2nd batch of soap. My oils and lye water were in the 82-88 degree range. It traced really fast but looks good today. I still have not unmolded or cut. Is there a perfect temperature to use so it does not trace so fast? I am posting a photo.

Attachments

• soapflower.jpg
    soapflower.jpg
    96.6 KB · Views: 0
Most common things that speed up trace (only according to my own experience)

1. Too much stick blending. Just pulse and stir.

2. Misbehaving fragrance oil. Read the reviews to see if others have had this happen.

While you wait for more answers, I recommend you give your full recipe, including additives, liquid choice, fragrance, etc., as well as which methods you used.

Welcome to the forum Firefly24
I agree with Artemis , without your recipe we would only scratch the surface of what the problem with fast trace may be, over stick blending and misbehaving fragrance oil & some essential oils tend to be top of the list of common problems. Other than that you have a lovely soap that I'm waiting for you to cut and post a pic of it .

My recipe was 5% almond sweet oil, 5% Castor Oil, 30% Coconut Oil, 40% Olive Oil, 20% Palm Oil. I used 54g's of Ylang Ylang FO (from Nurture's Garden.) 5% Superfat discount. Lye Concentration was 29% & water : lye ratio 2.4413:1 I will cut the soap today & post pictures again. I tried the hanger method. Hope it looks good. I think I may have over blended. I will see what you all think from this recipe. However, the notes about the FO said it behaved well in soap.

Your loaf looks so pretty - can't wait to see the cut!