Swirling

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Well I was practicing my swirling again and decided to time my batter it took 50 min to come to a light trace and another 32 min to come to a almost medium trace do you think I needed to blend more or is this a good timing for my swirling recipe. I blended for 10 sec and then another 10 sec And then 5 sec to emulsion I'm just trying figure out if it's taking to long to come to a trace or is this good I'm still learning how to control my batter.

@KiwiMoose I thought this might be to long my oils and lye are new. Maybe I just need to blend a little more this swirling recipe has always taken along time I just never timed it before I swirled for an hour before and the soap still turned out really nice but I hate waiting so long and I'm a bit scared to over blend it. My recipe is 20% Coconut oil 20% Palm oil 15% Canola oil 45% Extra Virgin Olive oil with 3%SF and 40% lye concentration, I like using a water discount so I can unmold it after 17 to18 hours later with the cutter I have. Oh and I soap at 90°F. Maybe I'm not bringing it to a full emulsion. Maybe if someone has time and the supplies they could try this recipe out to see if it's the same results for them I know it's alot to ask so only if someone is interested. I've used this recipe quite a few times and the soaps so far are really nice I just have to wait so long and afraid of over blending or not enough! Any tips for this recipe would be so Awesome Thanks so much! 🤔

The reason I'm having trouble waiting so long is because the swirling techniques I want to try take along time and I'm scared to over blend and I keep pouring my batter a little too thin cause it's taking forever to come to trace. So this is my problem I'm having.🤔

Last edited: