swirling my soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mary-Jane

Reaction score
Good morning, I hope I am in the right spot to post a question and sorry if I am not. I am new here and not quite sure.
I am new to soaping and have made two different soaps so far. They have come out pretty good, I think.
My daughter has been a soaper for many years and she does soap with goats milk. My husband and son have started a craft brewery and I use their beer to make soap.
I have two questions: The first is I had wanted to to some swirling in my soaps and found some recipes and one is buying a premade mix to do the swirling however I would like to make my own OR wondering if you could use your own soap recipe for that. Would there be something I should look for in terms of the oils I use?
My second question is my son asked if I could do lip balms. I have tried to look for this online and I find that people infuse things in their oil for lip balms and I was wondering if I used the spent grain from the beer process if I would do that also...infusing it into the oils? Maybe their are books out their to find these things out. I thought I would try and ask as this soap forum seems like people are always helping people out.
Thank you so much for reading this an have a great day!
Mary-Jane

There is no need to buy the swirl mix. You can use your own recipe. When you made your other batches, did you use beer? Beer can make the soap batter trace faster, so I would start by splitting off about 1/4 to 1/3 of your batter to color and doing an in the pot swirl. Lots of YouTube videos to watch on that technique, and it makes a pretty soap.