Sunflower oil

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sebonllyd

Reaction score
Hello everyone, this is my first post here so go easy on me! I'm a newbie soap maker, with some success in bar soap making. I'm vegan, which is why I've ended up making my own soap. I've recently made my first batch of liquid soap, using all coconut oil (recipe from thesoapkitchen.co.uk) and I've found it quite drying. I'm just learning about the chemistry of soap making, and all the various important aspects of this, and I have a few questions. Firstly, is shop bought sunflower oil just as useable as the kind you can buy from soap making suppliers (the shop bought one is a lot cheaper)? Secondly, is the whole neutralising thing absolutely necessary? People sharing recipes online seem to use 'borax', and neither this, nor boric acid, seems to be available in the UK. Is it possible to use another acid, like citric? Making clear soap isn't an absolute priority to me, but obviously I want to avoid burning my skin! Many thanks for reading this.

"...Secondly, is the whole neutralising thing absolutely necessary? People sharing recipes online seem to use 'borax', and neither this, nor boric acid, seems to be available in the UK. Is it possible to use another acid, like citric?..."

I take it you are wanting to know more about liquid soap? If so, you might want to ask the mods to move your thread to the liquid soap forum -- you might get more responses since the beginner forum is more for absolute beginners and almost all of them are asking about bar soap. :)