Straining lye solution...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nurse_75

Reaction score
Honest Q,

I have been watching Youtube vids of ITP to get some ideas and one soaper who has copious vids on there strained her lye as she added it to her oils. There was what I thought to be quite a large amount of undissolved lye that came out in a clump at the end and she kind of mushed it through the strainer with her spatula.

My Q is would leaving that undissolved lye out of the recipe affect anything? I wouldnt imagine that not fully dissolving your lye is best practise and perhaps more due to laziness or apathy.

Perhaps being a newbie I am overcautious but I tend to spend a long time making sure my lye is dissolved before I move onto the oils.

PS - any of you out there want to put your hands up and fess-up to Youtube vids... I would love to watch how you all soap. I found Lyn on there!

Thanks,

Sharna

i always always always make sure my lye has fully dissolved. i dont want any chunks of lye sitting in my soap. that is dangerous.

not putting all the lye in would increase your superfat.

It seems like a lot of extra work and uncertainty to use a strainer, smoosh the extra lye through, and hope that it distributes evenly (I doubt it would.... the point of a lye solution is to dissolve the lye!). Personally, I'd rather just add the lye slowly and give my lye solution a few extra stirs to make sure it dissolves. I would never put undissolved lye in my soap, ack! I don't like getting or giving chemical burns.

There's a chance that it wasn't undissolved lye, but rather debris from not washing the lye pitcher enough from last use... I used to strain those floaters when I saw them, u.til carebear suggested to soap as normal... I have never had a problem. Can u share link? I would like to see what they look like.