Soap Hardening and becoming grainy

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lburnworth

Reaction score
Hello Everyone! I’m new to soap making and I make goats milk soap. I own my own company and it’s been going great. I’ve been using the same recipe no problems at all and it’s been going great as well. But recently my soap as I’m pouring it, it starts to harden and I can’t mix it anymore and turn grainy and the oil seems to separate a little bit from the mixture. I’m at a loss; I’ve researched what I could be doing wrong, and thought I fixed it, monitored the temp, watched how much fragrance oil I put in it, I don’t know what I’m doing wrong.

Are any of the ingredients new?
No new ingredients, I use the same recipe every single time.
-11oz of water, 11oz of lye, 5oz sodium lactate
-25oz canola oil, 25oz of a rice bran/olive oil mix, 25oz coconut oil, 4.2oz Shea butter, 4.2oz cocoa butter
-3.5oz fragrance oil

Soap warmer (around 90-100 degrees is my recipe's sweet spot but YMMV) and/or use a different fragrance that you know doesn't rice/separate. Either way, you will want to stick blend more if your batter is separating.
It really sounds from your description like a naughty fragrance so I would start there.

False trace → work at warmer temperatures. With shea + cocoa as hard oils, be sure you're working at least at some 32°C/90°F all the time until the soap is in the mould. When unsure, preheat the tools (beaker, spatula, stick-blender head, mould) in an preheated & turned-off oven.

Fragrance oil → make a small test batch without FO.

ETA: @Megan beat me to it :).

False trace → work at warmer temperatures. With shea + cocoa as hard oils, be sure you're working at least at some 32°C/90°F all the time until the soap is in the mould. When unsure, preheat the tools (beaker, spatula, stick-blender head, mould) in an preheated & turned-off oven.