Silky Lotion Help

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rosies

Reaction score
I want to make a silky moisturizing lotion for my own personal use and need some help with this recipe. This is the only thing I've made so I have no experience. Below is the recipe I used but it had a greasy feel to it. I added cornstarch but it still felt greasy and takes about a half hour to soak in. It doesn't really feel silky like I expected it to. Would a silk protein or something else help. Can you suggest a change in the ingredients to take away the greasy feel? I have been using Johnson's Creamy Baby Oil which is good but I want better, silky and more natural ingredients.
Your help will be so much appreciated.

BODY SILK
10 oz distilled water
2 oz Virgin Coconut Oil
1 oz Emulsifying Wax
1 oz Liquid Shea (got mine from Judy at To Die For)
1 oz jojoba
1 oz glycerin
.5 oz Avocado oil
.5 oz Sweet Almond oil
.17 oz(notice the decimal), or 4.8 grams Phenonip or Germaben II

I think you are a bit high on the oil percent. (29.1%) I would knock that down to about 12-15% I can't give you exact, as my recipes are all at home, and I can't remember them off the top of my head. But roughly this is what I do (very roughly)

water 75-80%
oils 12-15% incl butter
rest, e-wax, cetyl alcohol or stearic acid, EO's, addiitves (vit E, silk, honey powder etc) and preservative.

Sorry to be so vague, a more experienced lotion maker should be able to help you more!

I would definately lighten up on the oil ...as the previous poster said ...you also can add hydrolyzed oat flour ...it will add some drier softness & lots of benefit ...maybe try it at 2%. Also, cocount oil is a greasier oil ...maybe go with shea butter?? HTH!

Thanks retropants and eden for your replies. It does make sense to cut down on the oils. Now if I can just find the hydrolyzed oat flour.

eden