Should Beginners Try Their Own Recipes?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MellonFriend

Reaction score
Hello all, I just introduced myself in the intro section and I'm ready to ask my first question. 🙂

So, how important is it to use a soap recipe that someone else has come up with already? I mean if I go to a lye calculator and put in the different amount of oils by percentage I'd like to use, is it possible for me to come up with a recipe that will turn out right? Or should I stick to a tested recipe?

There are some oils I have on hand that I'd like to put in my soap and I just wonder if I'm biting off more than I can chew trying to make my own recipe when I'm an absolute beginner.

I used the information off of this article: Free Beginner's Guide to Soapmaking: Common Soapmaking Oils - Soap Queen and soap calc to come up with this recipe:
Screenshot (23).png

Does this look any good?

I'm a very adventurous person and I really like doing things my way, but if this is just a bad idea, please let me know! Thanks in advance. 👍

I also say "yes!" to making your own recipes, and also agree to start with a smaller batch. A 500g/1 pound-ish batch will give you about four decent sized bars, which is plenty for testing but not so much to waste if you don't like the soap. Can't wait to see your creations! :)

Absolutely! That’s the fun part about making cold process soap. Make a small batch, let it cure for four weeks, test it. Let t cure some more and test it again. The more you make your own recipes, the more questions you will have about how to improve your craft. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes. Don’t be afraid to make subpar soap. And have fun.