Serious Problem With My Olive Oil Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DRWelch

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to soapmaking......made my first batch in Dec/2019.

I recently created a very small batch
(4 bars) of cold process, 100% olive oil (5.68 oz), and I added to it 0.32 oz of bergamot essential oil.
I always super fat at 5%; and with this batch I used 25% water.

Here's my problem:
I created the batch on April 11th......but 5 days later, the soap batter is still in a liquid form, no where near being ready to unmold.
I was very careful
(as always) to use the appropriate amount of lye and water, based on the amount of oil I used.

Did I do something wrong with this batch, or is this a natural chemical reaction between these two oils?
My only glimmer of hope is that, after just taking a look at the soap batter, the majority of the oil sitting in the mold is still clear and fluid, but for the first time, I'm able to to see a solid mass forming at the very bottom of the molds.

Thanks in advance for any guidance and advice anyone can provide me.

What were the actual amounts of NaOH and water that you used?

I'm thinking there may have been some miss measuring somewhere. Did you gel your soap? 100% OO soap can take quite some time to harden if not gelled and in a silicone mold.

That is a tiny batch with a tiny amount of lye. But you’ve used 33% lye concentration which is good. Did you use a jewellers scale? If not it’s really possible that you didn’t have enough lye especially with 5% SF.
Either that or you didn’t take trace far enough to saponify the oil and lye. What temperature did you soap at? Did you cover your mold after you poured it?

Last edited:
Looking at your numbers on a lye calculator, everything looks reasonable.