Rebatching Overly Fatty Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alexlane

Reaction score
Hi all! so this is my first post here. i am Brand new to Soap Making and i LOVE it! I could go on, and on.... BUT! i have a point, SO

I had some extra time on one of my days off so decided to get some candycane soap made/cut/curing before Christmas. my supplies were a little low but I am nothing if not resourceful! I am cook by nature and have always prided myself on the "Mother Hubbard" Method of Gourmet from whats available. so I apply this line of thinking to soap making (they are very similar) unfortunately i sorta botched my recipe.

All I had was Coconut oil and a little olive. at first I was planning on 100% CO bars because I thought the white would be great for Candy Canes! but I know you have to superfat high with CO. so set SoapCalc to 20% super fat. well long story short i decided to use some EVOO any way and made them 50/50, OO/CO.

BUT... and some of you are already there... forgot to change the super fat *face palm* so now I have super moisturizing/ conditioning peppermint fatties.

My question is this. im thinking of rebatching and adding more Lye! *GASP*

I look at it this way, i can assume there is a 20%, at least, super fat (i say atleast because the little oil to difuse color and i used Goats Milk too) so if I figure the soap weight is 20% fat, i can calculate enough lye to saponify about 10-15% of the "extra fat".

now this all makes sense in my head, but like I said, I am BRAND new (this was my second batch) to soaping.

any advice or warstories would be greatly appreciated!!

20% superfat doesn't necessarily mean 20% of the weight of the soap is fat. A 20% superfat means you used 20% less NaOH by weight to make the soap than was needed for 0% superfat.