ordering supplies - freight costs

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shdixx

Reaction score
I am in a quandry. I am new to soap making. The thing that drove me to it was the lack of availability of good, pure (without fragrances, detergent, and other chemicals) soaps. So, I have made three batches with good results (save for that one batch that smelled rancid shortly after curing). Now the problem is finding good ingredients (prefer expeller pressed oils where possible) and begin able to afford the ingredients plus the freight. I am finding that the freight is 35 - 40% of the total price of the oils and am amazed at how much it costs.

Are there any suppliers that offer freight discounts or free freight if a certain volume is ordered. If I could find other soapers locally and get others to order with me, we could save on freight that way. I started searching for suppliers within my state but haven't tackled that due to time constraints right now - google brought up lots of hits and they weren't all suppliers of soap making ingredients so I can see there will be some sifting required. I live in California (near about 45 minutes outside Sacramento). There is one supplier in Sacto and they don't have the selection of oils I am looking for.....

hmmmmm..

Shelly

Shelly, I am too far away from you to be of any use, but I'm sure someone closer will chime in and offer help.
I know a lot of the US soapers get their oils from Walmart, do you have a walmart where you are?

olive oil and coconut from cash and carry i know they are in ca

I doubt you'll find expeller pressed oils at a retail store. Unfortunately you either need to buy a lot to get a good discount or pay huge mark-ups.
I buy most of my stuff 100 pounds at a time to get decent prices, but even at that level mark ups are still high.