opinions/experience using vegetables in soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MsBrenda

Reaction score
I am kind of new to soap making. I've started my adventures in soap making with the cp method but discovered I like the hp method best so thats where I'm going to stay for a while.

I'm experimenting making soap using fresh garden vegetables. So far I made a lettuce oil infused soap and it turned out divine!

My second veggie soap, I pureed cucumbers, froze it and mixed with lye in a cold water bath. The soap is really nice and soothing on my skin except for the smell! It had a cooked plant smell so at the end of cooking the soap, I added essential oils and that covered up the plant smell to a fair degree.

My concerns are,
1. I wonder how long of shelf life these soaps will have and
2. should I have used a preservative?

Please give me your thoughts and feedback.

Brenda

Shelf life of soaps is only in reference to the oils used to make it. Oils can go rancid over time, & that depends on how fresh your oils are when you soap & how much you super fat. To slow rancidity, you can use an antioxidant like Tocoperol T-50.

I don't use veggies in my soaps, but I've been told in CP soap, they actually cook because of the high temps during gel/cure. Very few veggies hold their color in CP, most of the them turn tan or brown as the soap ages.

HTH :D

I would think that the high salt content of a salt bar would preserve the veg components. There is no way to save a natural plant green color though. The chlorophyll is going to die and turn brown....

The color is not a big issue with me. But I wonder if I should use a preservative in case of mold/rot.