Opaque/Seized Liquid Soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bathgeek

Reaction score
It’s only my fourth batch of liquid soap (glycerin method). I currently have a 50% success rate. The successful batches are gorgeously transparent and clear. The previous unsuccessful batch was cloudy though it seemed like it was cooking fine, and I think I mis-measured the KOH, so I eventually tossed the batch. This batch is completely strange. Maybe someone can help me understand what I’m doing wrong? Let me describe:

Recipe:
32oz olive oil
6.52oz KOH
8oz glycerin
12oz water (I tend to add more during cook to soften the paste, but that doesn’t seem to be a factor in success vs failure).

Method:

First I pour the oil into the crock pot and set it on warm. I have a 50% masterbatched KOH solution that I use, so I pour enough to get 6.52oz of KOH into the oil. I then pour 8oz glycerin in. I stir it with my stick blender and then blend away.

On the successful batches, I get mashed potatoes and then the thick custard, I keep cooking it on low and stir occasionally, I add liquid when I want a smoother paste, and then I dilute everything up in the end. It’s gorgeous and clear and works beautifully.

This last batch, batch #4, did the strangest thing. I had blended for a while but barely got cloudy oil, so I left the crock pot on warm and made a batch of CP soap and then a batch of bath bombs. After that, I used the stick blender on the liquid soap because it seemed like it was warmer and maybe I’d get mashed potatoes at last.

I did not get mashed potatoes. I got instant seize. In liquid soap. It is an opaque milky-cream color now. After unsuccessfully trying to beat that into submission, I scraped everything off, added water, and kept cooking it.