Oil/water amounts when using additives

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to soap making and I have a question about using additives.

When you have an additive that needs to be suspended in oil or water before adding to your mixture, do you discount the amount of water/oil you use from the recipe. What I'm trying to say, is if you have a recipe that uses 33 oz of oil, and you wanted to add titanium dioxide dispersed in oil, would you use a portion of your 33 oz to disperse the colorant, or a fixed amount that is extra apart from your recipe (ex. 1 Tbsp oil to 1 tsp colorant).

The recipes I've found have been unhelpful on this subject.

You can do it either way. Some people prefer to reserve liquid/oil for mixing additives because they don't want to add a minute superfat, or risk glycerine rivers by adding more water.

Personally: I superfat at 3% so adding 1tbsp or less of oil really isn't going to change my recipe, and I embrace glycerine rivers so extra water doesn't matter either.

You can do it either way. Some people prefer to reserve liquid/oil for mixing additives because they don't want to add a minute superfat, or risk glycerine rivers by adding more water.

Personally: I superfat at 3% so adding 1tbsp or less of oil really isn't going to change my recipe, and I embrace glycerine rivers so extra water doesn't matter either.
Thank You! I'll probably have to try both ways then to see which I like better!