New Soap maker

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aotc82

Reaction score
Hi

I’m brand new to soap making and I’m looking to make a pine tar recipe I’ve found online. I would like to make some soap for my family and friends.

I have brought a 50oz mould and the recipe is for a smaller mold. The size difference is 25%.

How do I increase the original recipe by 25%. Do I just increase each ingredient by 25%. I’ve looked at calculators and im so lost trying to use one.

Definitely don't increase each ingredient by 25% by hand. Always run a recipe change through a soap calculator. The most important thing is to figure out the percentage of oils (and in this case, also the tar) instead of worrying about the lye and water amounts. The soap calculator will provide the lye and water amounts for you.
Here's a handy guide below that may help explain some things a bit more:

However, I really must encourage you not to make 50 oz of pine tar soap, especially if you've never made soap before. Pine tar soap is finnicky and can very easily go wrong, and if it does, then a lot of raw materials may go to waste. And even if it does go okay, maybe you'll find out you don't care for the recipe and now you've got a ton of soap you don't really like. I've been making soap for 7 months and still make the majority of my recipes using 500g of oil.

I would recommend using your mold as a slab mold and making a smaller batch inside it that is cut into flat bars instead of into the standard loaf cuts.
1681230630575.png

HI @Aotc82 and welcome to SMF! May I suggest a few things?

1. Pine tar soap is rather advanced, because pine tar makes the soap batter thicken up very fast. I recommend making something simpler for your first few batches.