Quantcast

need some wisdom......

SoapMakingForum

Help Support SoapMakingForum:

gallerygirl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
I tried a search on rebatching and I am not finding anything real specific. Do I just melt the chopped up soap to rebatch and add the additional lye and water? Does the soap need to become smooth and fluid? At what temp would I add the additional lye/water? Thanks for any help. k
 

PhillipJ

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
166
Reaction score
0
Location
Appleton, WI
Now I'm pretty new at soaping and thought about your problem and when to add the needed lye & water.

Guess if it was my soap I would grate it, put it in a pot, add my lye/water and stir it some. Then cover & put it in the oven at 170 temp and stir every 15 minutes untill I don't get a zap on my tongue. Last stir would be to mix it good up with an egg beater then quick pour it in molds. Oven time will probably be around an hour.

It's only soap, what's the worst that could happen? It ain't right the way it is.
 

gallerygirl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
Well, that is exactly what I was thinking! Thanks for the guidance. k
 

Tabitha

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
7,135
Reaction score
143
Location
Texas
I don't rebatch but I am 98% sure you DO NOT add more lye. That sounds like a very dangerous idea to me.

I will do a search & see what I can find. I would hold off for just a bit before you try that.
 

Tabitha

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
7,135
Reaction score
143
Location
Texas

PhillipJ

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2007
Messages
166
Reaction score
0
Location
Appleton, WI
Tabitha. She made a double batch and only added water/lye for a single batch and it came out mushy.
 

edco76

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2007
Messages
238
Reaction score
1
Location
Talladega, Alabama
No Lye! Just grate it up and melt it. It wont be smooth and fluid ever. If you add enough water to make it close to smooth it will be too soft. Think greasy mashed potatoes. If it is fresh you will need to add little if any liquid. Glop it in. Cut in 24 hrs. I use my food processor and it works like a charm. You will have to really "mash" it in the mold. And bang on counter/floor to get air pockets out.
 

Tabitha

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
7,135
Reaction score
143
Location
Texas
Oh, so she is trying to correct a mistake, OK, I was scared there :lol: .
 

gallerygirl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
Thanks everyone. Paul had said to rebatch and to add the missing water/lye. Yep, they came out like mashed potatos - I put them in a pringle can and slammed it down to take out air bubbles. We shall see. Won't make this mistake again :oops:
 

Tabitha

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2006
Messages
7,135
Reaction score
143
Location
Texas
edco, she is not doing a regular rebatch, she made a mistake the first go around & only added 1/2 the lye she needed to. That is why she is rebatching now to correct her portions. I remember now she did mention that in a different thread.
 

gallerygirl

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Location
Ohio
Pleased to say everything seems to be a-okay with the soap. I know it will not look as good, but it stills smells wonderful and moulded well.
 
Top