My Soap Business - Can't do it.

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brian0523

Reaction score
Well I've been soaping for about a year and a half now, with the intent to sell soap at a local indoor flea market, online, and a few other opportunities.

Just this week I actually registered my business name with the state of New Jersey, and received my tax ID number, so I'm officially a business in NJ. Yea me right? Well not so fast! I get a call yesterday from my local township official. The man says he was informed by the State Dept of Taxation that I'm a new small business owner and I have to be issued a registration or permit for my business before I can begin making sales. He wants to know how the soap is made, which I fully explained. I also made it clear that this would be a very small operation, and that I expected to bring in less than $500 sales per month. He went on to explain that the State and Township require that I be issued a permit to make soap by the Department of Fire and Hazardous Materials. I need this permit because of the process melting oil, and storing a hazardous chemical (lye).

I explained to him that I don't store more than 5 pounds of lye, and that very little quantities of hard oils are used in my formulations. Apparently, that doesn't matter. There's also a regulation in place that I would have to install a professional grade stove and exhaust fan - costing about $5000. And my setup would be subject to random inspection, and if I'm in violation of these requirements I would be fined $2000 per incident.

Well at this point my head is spinning, I'm depressed, and I'm pissed-off big time!

I guess I'm looking for advice if anyone has come up against this when you opened a soaping business from your home. I don't know of any professional NJ soapers here who could help.