Making CP soap without thermometer or stove

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SequimSoaper

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to making soap. I watched a video that teaches how to make cold process soap. Their method is different than I've seen and I am wondering if anyone has tried it.

Their method is to put room temperature water in a big pot and add the lye to it. Stir until lye is dissolved. Now start adding fats, hardest ones first. Continue stirring and adding fats; the heat from the lye water melts the fats. When melted, add any liquid oils. Start blending with a stick blender on and off until soap reaches trace. Add additives and pour into greased mold.

Has anyone tried this? Any ideas on this technique?

Thanks,
Cyndie :)

Ok where did you see that? I am curious. I don't see why it wouldn't work.They are using the fact lye water gets very hot to melt the oils and start process.

Hi Cyndi
That method is called room temperature cold process or RTCP . If you are brand new to soap making , it might not be the best thing to try first off . If the lye & oil mixture cools down before the oils are emulsified , it will be hard for you to determine if you have reached a true trace . I have tried this method and it isn't my favorite , but it might be yours .
If you haven't made soap before . I would suggest making a very simple small recipe just to get the feel for what happens at each stage of making soap , especially the reaching trace part , once you know exactly what the traced soap should look like you shouldn't be fooled by a false trace .
A great starter recipe is 75% OO and 25% CO it is called bastile , a nice mild easy to make soap .

HTH

Kitn

it'll go better if you put your oils in a pot, then make up your lye solution in a separate container and add that to your oils and stick blend away.