is this a "detergent" m&p base?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pawfect

Reaction score
Hi - I'm a newbie to soaping & have been having a go at m&p. So fun!

Anyway I bought some soap bases just to have a play with...marketed for sensitive skin sufferers (eczema, etc), which interested me because I have skin issues. These are vegan with no sulphates inclu SLS. However when i've looked at the ingredients, they aren't exactly all natural either.

Would you call this a 'detergent' bar?

Soap ingredients:
Sodium Stearate (from vegetable fats)
Glyceral Stearate (emollient and emulsifier)
Water
Sodium Myristate (cleansing salt formed during soap making)
Sodium Laureth (Mild Foaming and cleansing surfactant (Not SLS) 5%
Glycerine (food grade) (Humectant & Moisturiser)
Sucrose (organic compound commonly known as table sugar)
Sorbitol (Food Grade) (sugar alcohol)
Sugar (Food Grade)
Sodium Hyaluronic Acid (used for health benefits)
EDTA 4Na (preservative & anti-oxidant)

As a side note, the % of glycerin was purposely low to prevent sweating (so they told me). However they also said that there's no way of telling if glycerine draws moisture from the air to hydrate skin, or from your body, so they keep % low just in case it's drawing moisure from the rest of your body to the skin.

Anyway I'm getting a fair few soaps made & will have to offload some to family to try. Just wondering if these are too full of nasties to give away?

Sodium Laureth is a sulfate, which is a detergent.

I'm not someone that has jumped on the detergent = bad bandwagon though, so I can't answer about whether or not they're full of nasties.

I am a little interested in this ingredient though
"Sodium Hyaluronic Acid (used for health benefits)"

Did it actually say "used for health benefits"? The only health benefits I've ever heard of Sodium Hyaluronic being used in was in internal uses.