...I feel like a beginner...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chefmom

Reaction score
I'm posting this in the beginners forum because I made so many first time techniques with this soap that I certainly FEEL like a complete Newbie.

I have always been a hot process girl. From the beginning of my soap making journey (about 14 years), early on I just gravitated towards the hot process because I liked the speed and outcome, easy clean up etc.

I have come back to cold process recently as I started coming back to forums and wanting to play with different techniques.

Milk soaps have been my evil nemesis. Except for adding reconstituted goats milk powder in the end after the cook, I have never successfully made a full out goats milk soap. Back when I first started trying, there weren't the videos and tutorials that are around today.

Okay....this was my first batch of real milk soap. I wanted to try out the coconut milk soap that I have been reading so much about. And, I just can't help myself to try out a few other new techniques.

I tried out the salt in the lye water technique, not sure that I will be doing THAT again. I will most likely in the future dissolve the salt in one part of the water, and the lye in another. I think it would just go smoother.

I split the total water amount into 50% water and 50% canned coconut milk for the 32 ounces oil recipe I made.

The next new thing I did, was instead of trying to keep the milk cold, I added it, at room temperature into the oils before the lye. It looked weird, and didn't mix, so I hit it with the stick blender and made it smooth before adding the salt and lye mix.

I also have been reading about adding the fragrances into the oils before the lye, so I also tried that technique.