High Altitude Soap Making

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bassgirl

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm so glad I found this forum just before I make my first batch of soap! I've been researching this for a few months and have never found the subject of high altitude addressed. Maybe because it isn't an issue?

Anyhow, I live at almost 8,000'. Do I have to adjust my recipes in any way, or the temperature I mix at?

Thanks!

8000 feet...... Leadville, CO??

As I recall from high altitude cooking, water boils at a lower temperature because of the lower air pressure, and cakes need an extra spoonful of flour because they rise too fast for the same reason. Never tried soap at high altitude, but thinking about the process logically, I don't see why there would be any changes needed in CP soap since there's no boiling or leavening involved.

Close...southern Colorado! I think Leadville's at 9,000 something.

Thanks for the response. I guess I'll just proceed as planned. After doing a lot of reading, I'm still a little unclear about different temperatures, so I guess I'll just have to experiment.

Thanks again!

I have not a clue about soaping at high altitudes, but maybe try Paul's RTCP method. Then there are no worries about temp. It is in the tutorial section. :D

Digit

Thanks!

I just read through that and I'm not sure I understand it. Don't your solid oils turn solid again at room temperature?

Anyway, gotta go to work now, but will study it more in depth later. :D