HELP.... MAKING LIQUID SHAMPOO... 1st timer...

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ninis

Reaction score
Hello... I have been making soaps for 6 years now... However, first time doing shampoo (or any liquid soaps) cooking time had me running.

Anyways... so I started with this recipe :
coconut raw/vegan : 24 oz / olive: 13 / PALMA christie from haiti : 11 oz / jojoba : 1.5 / argan 1.5 / water : 50oz / KOH : 11 oz (0% superfat) calculated on brblberry)

processing it on a double boiler / heated my oils to about 160F / added koh-water solution / within 2 minutes bather is hard .... I found it to be really quick after all the 30 minutes other soapers said you would wait... anyways... went for 5 hours of cooking till it became clear vaseline.... tested for clarity... cloudy /milky...
Thought it was my infused boiled water with thyme.. so tried with culligan water no additives.. still cloudy, but less.. throughout cooking I could smell a urine like odor by waves.... lye probably cooking off).
zap test... yeaks ! paste a bit dark, because palma christie is a dark oil here in Haiti, not like clear castor oil(same but different method of extraction).

So I recalculated.. at 3%superfat and added 6 ounces of coconut to it... lye was a bit over on recalculation (12oz).. mixed it in, and cooked it to make sure coconut addition was well mixed in... gave me an incredible vaseline mixture... BUT... clarity test... still cloudy... zap test... zing! not as hard as first try but.. zing...

Can I make it clearer ? its a shampoo....I am sooooo confused, and I do not want to trow it away.

HELP PLEASE !!!
claritytest.jpg
correcte6ozcoco shampoo paste.jpeg
diluted for clarity.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
I really do not want to throw it away ! :(