Hello from U.K

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alib

Reaction score
Hi everybody, I'm new on here & was hoping for some advice, I have recently made my first ever batch of soap following a very basic reciepe using vegetable fat (I used trex) - I wanted to see that it would work before I moved on to nicer soaps with more exspensive ingredients. The soap is about half way through its curing time, this morning I took a peak & each bar is covered in small cracks, it looks like it would all fall apart if I picked it up :(
This is not mentioned in the troubleshooting section of the book I have.
Does anyone know why this might have happened?

Hello,

Welcome to the forum. I'm not an expert but my first thought was maybe your soap overheated. But I could be wrong. As long as the soap isn't lye heavy, you can still use it. Perhaps you could rebatch it. Hopefully an expert will be along soon to give you advice.

What was the recipe?

The recipe was 16oz vegetable fat, 2oz sodium hydroxide, 5oz spring water & that was all.

I searched for trex but I couldn't find out what vegetable oils are in it. I use soapcalc.net to calculate lye and it only shows Crisco new with palm, old Crisco with soybean and cottonseed and Walmart GV shortening (soy and cottonseed). Do you know what oils are used in trex? Did you insulate the batch? What lye calculator did you use? The forum is kind of quiet this weekend. Maybe in a couple of days more people might respond.

Here's a couple of sites that discuss troubleshooting.

http://www.colebrothers.com/soap/trouble.html
http://www.millersoap.com/trouble.html

What oils do you consider more expensive? If trex is a blend of palm and soybean oil, I have a recipe that makes a nice soap. I don't know about the UK but here we can find olive and coconut oil in grocery stores. I also found castor oil in the pharmacy section at Walmart's.