Hello / 2 soap chemistry questions

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mistepp23

Reaction score
First of all, hello, this is my first time making soap. Now that that's out of the way, I have a couple of soap chemistry questions that I've been curious about.

1. The recipe I used had the following ingredients:
-Coconut oil
-Olive oil
-NaOH/H2O
-Lavender essential oil
-Oatmeal

I noticed that, about a day after I'd poured the soap into the mold, I noticed a moderately strong ammonia smell throughout the room. I'm just curious where the ammonia came from, and if I should pitch the batch.

2. Why is there a 3-week curing period? The soap seems ready now. What further chemistry takes place during this period?

Thanks so much!
-Michael

Hello Michael, and welcome! :)

I wouldn't worry about the ammonia smell at this point. The more you soap, the more you'll find that it's not unusual for new soap to give off a weird smell at first. Usually it has to do with foody additives such as milks, etc.... The off-smells usually disappear during cure.

Re: cure. Bar soap is safe to use as long as it is tongue neutral when the zap test is applied, but just be aware that "safe to use" does not necessarily equal "best time to use". According to Dr. Kevin Dunn (a chemistry prof) on page 79 of his book 'Scientific Soapmaking', three things happen during cure:

1) Soap loses weight as moisture evaporates
2) It hardens
3) Any leftover alkali is neutralized by atmospheric carbon dioxide