Essential oil by weight? Or volume?

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Punkin

Reaction score
I'm just starting out cold process (I've made 4 batches, but all still curing), with intentions to give as gifts for the holidays. I've been using soapcalc to check all my recipes. However, when I use my postal scale to measure essential oils for apple cider soap, I've poured in up to 3/4 of a 1 fluid oz bottle of EO (cinnamon, ginger) my normally accurate digital postal scale still reads 0.0 oz! My mold is about 3lb and soapcalc recommended 1 oz EO by weight. Since it wasn't registering on the scale, I went ahead and used about 3/4 of the 1fluid ounce. The soap has been curing for a week, has been scenting the whole house, and the soap still has a decent amount of scent left. I can't imagine using over 10x more EO! Is there a better way to measure EO volumetrically, by drops or teaspoons? Is my scale just not accurate with small amounts, or do people really put in that much EO? I've heard that EO doesn't have as much staying power in CP, but I can be really sensitive to "fake" fragrances. Thanks!

I always measure by weight however I found my scale (which was accurate to 1 gram) was unable to register that I was even starting to measure when using such small increments.

First off, if you're not already, you might want to use grams when doing such small amount (1oz is approx 28gr so you can see how it would break down more accurately).

I've seen a lot of postal scales that are only accurate to 5g or .5 ounces so you need to check that.