Dr. Bronner liquid castile soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michaelhannaster

Reaction score
Anyone have any good recipes on making liquid castile soap like the dr browner style? I am a beginner soap maker and have had some good luck with my recent bars and would like to venture out. I found a nice looking recipe for shaving cream but it calls for the dr browner liquid castile soap and rather do it myself if I can.

Thanks

First Dr. Bronner's is NOT a castile but rather a cloy marketing ploy. I would recommend that you look at the ingredient list on the package. I have refused to buy any of their products because of their marketing techniques which diminish the value of what is a true castile..... grrrrr :mad:

First Dr. Bronner's is NOT a castile but rather a cloy marketing ploy. I would recommend that you look at the ingredient list on the package. I have refused to buy any of their products because of their marketing techniques which diminish the value of what is a true castile..... grrrrr :mad:

what is true castile ??? / i know Dr.B uses coconut in theirs. now some say 100% olive oil is true castile..... and others accept the adding of Laurel oil as still being acceptable castile practice.

True castile is 100% olive oil and nothing else. When it has Laurel oil added, its called Savon de Marseille soap. I had been buying kirks castile for years and though it was the "right" stuff. It wasn't until I did a bit of research that I found out how false that is. I picked up a bar of kirks today, just to do some comparison with it and my CP soaps. On the back label it say that castile is any soap made with all vegetable oils, no wonder there is so much confusion on the subject.

Just my 2 cents, but wouldn't just making a batch of olive oil based soaps - then liquifying them with distilled water work?