Creamy coloured liquid soap

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TrulyNatural

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to soap making and have made a few successful batches of clear liquid soap. The liquid soap I have made has turned a rich silky, creamy colour about 48 hours after dilution. Does anybody know what the cause if this it? It's not separating and it's lovely to use, quite a soft, silky feel :smile: Does liquid soap have to be clear? Thanks in advance for any info.

No it doesn't have to be clear, sometimes fragrances can discolor the soap and other additives. Did you add a fragrance?

If you would be so kind as to share the recipe, it would help.

There are a few usual suspects, though; One is animal fats as part of the recipe, another is EO/FO culprits, third is superfat amount.

And no, liquid soap does not have to be clear. I don't really care if mine is or not, but others do. It is a personal choice.

No it doesn't have to be clear, sometimes fragrances can discolor the soap and other additives. Did you add a fragrance?
Hi yes I have added fragrance but after it already changed to the creamy colour. It's a bit weird it just seems to change by itself after dilution but not immediately.

If you would be so kind as to share the recipe, it would help.

There are a few usual suspects, though; One is animal fats as part of the recipe, another is EO/FO culprits, third is superfat amount.

And no, liquid soap does not have to be clear. I don't really care if mine is or not, but others do. It is a personal choice.

Hi the recipe is made up of 500g rice bran oil, 250g coconut oil, 150g castor oil and 100g cocoa butter.
Would the cocoa butter have anything to do with it do you think? With the liquid soap being a creamy colour that make it have a shorter shelf life at all?