Chemistry for cosmetic course

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rivai

Reaction score
Hello

I dont really know where i should this particular question. So i post it here instead considering im a new member. I have been making CP soap for 2 years now and mostly successful, i read a lot of books, went for local training, offline discussion, reading forum, googling, etc. Thanks to all that.

However lately im thinking i should have a proper education in chemistry for cosmetic using nature herbs, etc. I want to build a stronger foundation for myself in chemistry so at least i know what will happen if i mix certain ingredients in the beauty product instead of reading opinion from the internet. Certainly im not implying online article is not reliable, but it does take a lot of efforts to filter out what is right and what is wrong. At the end you still come to conclusion but certain things never do. Im a practitioner. I should balance up myself academically in this area.

I tried to google online class learning in this matter and there are soooooo many. It's all marketing statement. I cant tell which is better or which one suitable for me. Im hoping for any experienced member who have science & chemistry background can lead me so i can narrow down my choices.

Thanks

Warm Regards
R

Hi, Rivai. Below is a link to a basic cosmetic chemistry course that may be just what you're looking for. However, when I say free, you have to subscribe to to the blog in the first place. But I believe it is available to all subscriber levels, even the $1.00 subscription. So not totally free, but extremely well done and totally worth it. Susan is an amazing resource on all things cosmetic, from how to formulate to how to duplicate and so much more.

https://swiftcraftymonkey.blog/course-access/

She also co-authored this free online course, on Cosmetic Formulation: