Brand New Here & To Soap Making!

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RobinHoodFan

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!

I'm brand new to soap making and literally just started researching yesterday. This looks like some fun stuff and I cant wait to get started!! I've only ever purchased handmade soap twice...both times from the same seller on Etsy so I'm even new to using them..but I love the ones I have and would love to create my own scents and types!

My main concern and only problem I seem to be running into that I'm confused about is the Lye. I hear they took it off the shelves in the US or something? I have an ACE hardware and Lowes right by me (haven't check them out yet). But I just want to be certain I get the correct stuff. Any suggestions on what I'm looking for?

I've read some stories where some people say the bottle says 100% lye but the MSDS sheet said otherwise....was this just a freak accident or incorrect story or is this something I need to worry about? I just want to make sure I make my soaps safe and effective as I'd like to try selling them at some point too (provided I get the hang of this ;)) Does the lye have to be food grade? I hear people use Rooto? Is that safe? I have an Amazon gift certificate I'm looking to use and wondering if i can find everything I need there to get me started? What do you think of this lye? Seems to have good reviews: removed spammy link
How much of these products (oils butters, fragrances, etc) do you usually use for a small batch? Will 1lb amounts of this stuff be good for at least 1 batch?

Sorry if these are all repeated ?'s... I Haven't really taken a good look around here yet so if anyone can point me in the direction of some good threads where I can find tips, techniques, brands and where to get supplies that'd be really helpful!

Looking forward to joining the soap making community! :D