Bath Bombs Cracking Days Later

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eissik123

Reaction score
When it comes to anything crafty or artsy, I have about the same skill level as a 6 year old. Projects that are labeled as "super easy" often leave me stumped. I've been making cold process soap for like 5 years and still can't do even the simplest swirl. I gave up on making "pretty" soap and just make it for functionality now.

I wanted to try making my own bath bombs and found the process to be a lot harder than they make it look in the tutorials. At first, I couldn't get my bath bombs to stick together. Then when I finally did and took them out of the mold they fell a part into a pile of powder.

I really bombed with this project (cue cheesy laugh track).

After about the 1oth try, I finally made bath bombs that stuck together, held their shape, and looked and smelled almost professional. Yay! I let them dry overnight and then put them into a sealed zip lock bag for safe keeping and didn't touch them or move them at all. I looked at them tonight ( a week later) and one of them has developed a huge crack right down the middle, dividing it almost in two. The other one is still looking ok.

What caused the crack and how can I prevent it? Why did one bath bomb crack but the other made from the same batch didn't? I live in the midwest and it is not particularly humid or particularly dry here.

I'm going through a rough patch personally and this small success with the bath bombs made me feel a little better. Now that it cracked I'm way more disappointed than I know I should be, but I can't help it. I just want something to go right, darn it!

Any help/advice would be appreciated!

What is your recipe?

You probably won’t be surprised that my guess is your issues are moisture related. Do you use oil, water, alcohol, or witch hazel?