Advice for my first batch of shampoo

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

colton

Reaction score
Hi all,

I am a male college student on a budget. I am tired of using shampoo laden with chemicals that are harmful to my body and the environment, so I started researching homeade shampoo.

I have a few questions on things that were still unclear to me after my research.

I just want to make sure I do this right so that my money is not wasted (like I said.. strict budget :sad:)

1) What are the advantages/disadvantages to using whole herbs versus essential oils derived from the same herb?

2) I have thin, dry hair and would like to stimulate growth.. I read that nettle, sage, and rosemary may be good choices for me, what are your thoughts on this?

3) What is the best base soap to use and where is the best place to buy ingredients?

Any advice is MUCH appreciated!!! :p

If you want you can buy a shampoo base and use that. To it I would add essential oils but keep your combined total at 3% or less as they are over the counter drugs. Good luck...

I would look into the 'no poo' method, at least for something to do part of the time. I'm female with long wavy/curly hair, and only wash it once a week. Its better for my hair, the environment, and my wallet! Usually water rinse in the shower by itself is enough (between washes), and sometimes I just pull it back before a shower and don't get it wet. Once a week or so I wash just around the scalp with a gentle shampoo. Many people use straight baking soda to wash their hair, which is easier with short hair. I also do conditioner washes with cheap suave conditioner, but at some point I'll get rid of that to be even more ecofriendly (especially because the waste of packaging.)