100% olive oil soap receipts & suggestion

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

susucosp

Reaction score
i am a newbie in soap making.

i find a 100% olive oil soap recipe in this forum and someone in cp forum suggest me to use 33% lye solution instead of 25% lye solution so i use this one. then i find another recipe in youtube.com

which is the best 100% olive oil soap recipe.

first one use 25% lye solution and use different temperature for the oil and the lye.
16 oz. pure olive oil
2 oz. lye
6 oz. water

Heat oil to 150° and add the lye to the water slowly while stirring with a wooden spoon.Mix lye solution and oils when the oil is at 120-130° and the lye between 90-100°. Mix them together until it comes to a trace. Pour it into a mold and let set 72 hours before unmolding.

second recipe use 33% lye solution and use same temperature for the oil and lye solution 110 degree.
24.4 oz Olive Oil, 6.83 oz Distilled Water, 3.14 oz lye

anyone has any suggestion for a better recipe. i need a good recipe for a 100% olive oil. :?:

Both recipes are "good" in that they will work to make Castile soap.

The recipe with less water will trace faster and cure faster, but the lye is more concentrated and may be trickier to mix.

With respect to temperature, I have been told that I was mixing at too HIGH a temperature at 135 degrees F. When I changed to Room Temperature Oil and fully mixed in lye that had not cooled off yet, I had much better luck controlling the speed of trace and the texture of the pour. The part about letting it sit in the mold 72 hours is good advice regardless of which recipe you use... Olive oil take a bit longer to set up and then you need to let it cure longer than other soaps with the same water content as well.