Story of my first ever soap batch (3 years ago)

Soapmaking Forum

Help Support Soapmaking Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
This is the story of the first batch of soap that I made over 3 years ago and the horrible story!

I was a student part of a club called the mad scientists club. We wanted to make something for a fundraiser that was sciencey but would also be able to sell. I came up with soap (silly me)!

I decided to do hot process with vegetable oil and Crisco because it was inexpensive and we could sell the soap right away. I bought a really bad kitchen scale (not digital) and I actually sprung for a stick blender.

So I measured my stuff, made the soap with a friend and cooked it. Everything went well. I was so scared it was going to be lye heavy so I added some extra oil during the cook. No zap! I was really happy and glopped the soap into the mold. I scented it with some mint flavor.

Then our fundraiser fell through. So I just kept the soaps in a closet and figured we would sell them the next school year.

That didn't exactly work...

I decided to use the soap in my homemade laundry detergent. After 2 months of using it, my clothes started smelling awful. Rancid. Like puke. It was bad. When I went to check the soaps I kept in a closed closet (which thankfully we had never sold) they were all rancid and had DOS.

I tried to look up if I could salvage it. I even tried re-batching. But I ended up throwing it away.

I stayed away from HP/CP after that for 8 months. I did melt and pour. When I felt ready, I bought the right supplies (a digital scale, quality oils) and took my time and my soaps came out great. :)

So when someone wonders what can happen when you cut corners, yeah its not fun. You also make your boyfriend who uses your laundry soap smell like puke.